Month: January 2009

  • God Listens!

    Have you ever wondered when you prayed to our Heavenly Father if He really hears what you are saying?  Well, I have a recent happening in my life to share with you!

    Elizabeth called me Sunday evening. I returned her call to see what I could do for her. She requested that I turn the radio on in our home to 88.5 FM/WRAF in Toccoa Falls, GA. While I went to the radio and found the station, this is what she told me.

    Elizabeth said there had been no church this morning (not sure why) so she began to pray for me at 9:45 AM because she knew that I was teaching a woman's Sunday school class. (I let her know how much I appreciate that.) She had listened to some tapes, read some books and listened to the radios playing all around the area. Most of them were not what she wished to hear, and there isn't much of a choice anyway. She asked God to please give her something nice to hear, and very shortly there was nice music. She listened, and thought she heard "88.5 Toccoa Falls, GA". She ran to her radio, turned it on to 88.5 and listened.

    By that time our radio in our home was on, and I held the phone so she could hear it. She told me that she was hearing the same thing in both ears!!!!  Please understand - the tower for that station is one half mile away from our front door and Elizabeth was in Soliette, Haiti!!!! (with a radio that has only batteries)

    I truly believe that God wanted her to know that He listens to her needs, and answers them as He knows best! She - or I - will probably never forget that He listens to our prayers - right as we say them!

    I spoke to her this morning and she said that she was able to listen for about one half hour before it went away!

    God is Good - only we need to remember that.

  • I know that lots of other places look like this background, but not our area We had lots of weather predictions, but the weathermen got it all wrong this time. If the clouds/snow come over the mountains, it will often skip right over us and let the areas farther east get the snow. Now, if it comes from the south and comes around the bottom of the mountain range, then we can really get a nice snow.

    Merle has had 3-5 days of work each week since Thanksgiving. It has allowed him to cut up a lot of wood that has been available to him, and get a few things done around the house. One of the first weeks that he only had 3 days of work, he had a big list of things he wanted to do!  Maybe one got done!! It was such a nice time to relax for a few days, and he did.(Well deserved too!) We want to thank the Lord for the work He does provide for us, and pray that we as a nation will not have to see what it saw in the 1920-30s.

    Elizabeth had gone back to Haiti. A cousin of mine is having their last child get married this spring, and told Elizabeth that they will be empty nesters then. Elizabeth said that her folks have one bird that keeps flying back to nest every so often, and they only have spurts of the empty nest!