Month: August 2009

  • Haiti

    For those who are unaware - Elizabeth has gone to Haiti again. This time it is to teach Bible school in two different places. She left August 12, and will return September 3. She will be in two completely new areas of Haiti - for her - and will be teaching Bible School. At the end of the time, she plans to be at IFM for a couple days before returning home and "hitting the decks" with a work schedule!

  • Consider the lilies

    Consider the lilies and see how they grow - this reminds us that God cares.

    It is not easy to hear the doctor say that my father's heart is wearing out. It is something that we knew, but sort of put it off in the future years. Now we know that years are not an option, although we have no idea when. The heart muscle is thickening, slowing all the work it needs to do, which creates other problems. There is no medicine or exercise that will make it any better. A pace maker is being considered, and a heart monitor is on him for the next 24 hours. The doctor has said that he should not do any long distance driving at this point.

    I have been very grateful to have my parents as long as I have. They are 82, and I really wonder if I will live to be that old. It has greatly shortened the length of time between their passing and my own, giving me many blessings I had not expected.

    My prayer is that when the time comes for his heart to give completely out, that God would see fit to give Daddy a "quiet and peaceful" passing from this earth.

  • A Granddaughter!

    We have been blessed with the birth of a granddaughter last Monday, August 3. She will be known as Jamie Belle Hershberger, and have Jacob and  Valerie as her parents. She will also have a big brother - Isaac.

    Our family was all together last evening for supper. They wanted to see Elizabeth before she returns to Haiti for three weeks. We had a really enjoyable time, looking forward to more like it!

    Elizabeth, Tom and I will be going to Atlanta on Wednesday evening. On Thursday morning, she will fly to Haiti to teach Bible school for three weeks, returning Sept. 3.