June 5, 2008

  • A Sudden Leak

    We had gone to cottage meetings last night, and came back home to get the snack ready for the others. When I turned on the water – NONE! Just as I was going out to tell Merle, another couple came in the back, and she was saying, “Wonder where that water is coming from”. Her husband found one of the pipes to the washer was split and gushing water. I opened up the kitchen faucet again to relieve the pressure, and had water! Then ran and cut the breaker to the pump. Merle came in from showing the semi truck big horn to the children and helped fix it.
    The rest of the evening was relaxing and enjoyable. Was told that if I go to Merl’s Countertops, two leafs could be made for my table!! That is sooo exciting to me! It has been years since we had a good dining room table. Now my table cloths will fit properly too.
    Mother reminded me of an old cook’s trick the other day. If you find that something has scorched or burnt while being cooked, IMMEDIATELY take the pot/pan to the sink and set it in cold water. Let it sit in the cold water until cooled (I have sometimes changed the water to keep it cool). Usually there will be none or very little of the bad taste left. She did this on a piece of deer meat that she had in a portable crock pot. (She had forgotten to add some water and it went dry) She said that the only place that did not turn out ok was the area that was on the very bottom.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *